To recognize and promote excellence in implementation of e-governance initiatives, the Department of Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances presents National Awards for e-Governance every year.

1. Purpose of the Award

The purpose of these awards is to:-

a) Recognize achievements in the area of e-Governance.

b) Disseminate knowledge on effective methods of designing and implementing sustainable e-Governance initiatives.

c) Encourage horizontal transfer of successful e-Governance solutions.

d) Promote and exchange experiences in solving problems, mitigating risks, resolving issues and planning for success.

2. Category of awards

i) Excellence in Government Process Re-engineering:This award seeks to recognize the best-in-class projects that involved analysis and re-design of workflow and aimed at improvement in outcomes related to efficiency, effectiveness of process, cost, quality, service delivery or a combination of these.

Exemplary Re-Use of ICT-based Solutions: This award seeks to recognize the exemplary projects implemented at department or organization level that have been replicated to other departments or organizations with suitable modifications.

Outstanding performance in Citizen-Centric Service Delivery: This award seeks to recognize the projects aimed at delivering enhanced value to its beneficiaries through effective use of ICT.

Innovative Use of Technology in e-Governance: This award seeks to recognize the projects demonstrating use of path breaking ICT or innovative use of an existing ICT.

Innovative Use of ICT by PSUs for Customer's Benefits: This award seeks to recognize projects implemented in PSUs that demonstrate effective use of ICT focused at improving the process outcomes.

Best Government Portal: This award seeks to recognize the departments that have contributed most towards development of a content enriched and visually appealing website, enhancing public access and service delivery through use of ICT.

Sectoral Award: This award seeks to recognize achievements in the focus sector for the year.

3. There will be three awards in each category, namely Gold Icon, Silver Icon and Bronze Icon.

4. Who can nominate:

Central Ministries/Departments, States/ UTs, Districts, Local Bodies, PSUs, Civil Society Organizations and Industry.

5. Criteria for selection of Awards

General criteria

All nominated projects must have been operational for a period of not less than one year

Excluding Pilot period).

Award-specific criteria

Sl No. Award Category Evaluation Criteria (Parameters)
1. Excellence in Government Process Re-Engineering
  • Coverage Geographical
  • Scope of Services/Activities Covered
  • Citizen Centricity
  • User Convenience
  • Efficiency Enhancement
  • Cost Effectiveness
  • Capacity Building and Organizational Sustainability
  • Accountability
  • Innovation
  • Appropriate Delegation
2. Exemplary Re-Use of ICT Based Solutions
  • Coverage
  • Scope of Services/Activities Covered
  • Original Project from which the Best Practice is replicated
  • Appropriateness of Context & localization of best practice
  • Scalability
  • Sustainability
  • Cost Effectiveness
  • Innovations to original project
3. Outstanding performance in Citizen-Centric Service Delivery
  • Coverage Geographical
  • Scope of Services/Activities Covered
  • Stakeholder Consultation
  • Citizen Centricity and relevance
  • User Convenience
  • Cost to User
  • Citizen Charger
  • Adherence to SLA
  • Problem Resolution and Query Handling
  • Privacy and Security Policy
  • Innovation
  • e-Inclusion
  • Sustainability
  • .Number of users and services
4. Innovative Use of Technology in e-Governance
  • Coverage Geographical
  • Scope of Services/Activities Covered
  • Demonstrate innovative use of ICT for development
  • Adaptability and Scalability
  • New Models of Service Delivery
  • Efficiency Enhancement
  • User Convenience
  • Sustainability
5. Innovative Use of ICT by PSUs for Customer's Benefits
  • Coverage Geographical
  • Scope of Services/Activities Covered
  • Enhancement of Productivity
  • Improvement in Efficiency
  • Service Delivery Business/Client Centricity
  • Innovation
  • Defined and Achieved outcomes
  • Sustainability
6. Best Government Portal
  • URL
  • Hosted at
  • Designed and developed by
  • Information available
  • Service Delivery
  • Public Access
  • Security/Privacy
  • Compliance with the guidelines for Indian Government Website issued by DARPG/NIC
  • Design and Visual Appeal
  • Currency of Updation
  • Website usage data
7. Sectoral Award Focus sector of each year is being decided separately.
  • Outreach
  • Scope of Services / Activities covered
  • Enhancement of efficiency
  • Ease of transaction
  • Innovation
  • Appropriateness of context and degree of localization
  • Accessibility & User Convenience
  • Scalability
  • Sustainability

Nomination for the Awards are generally called for during September/October every year through leading National Newspapers. Details are also put up on this website of the department as well as website of the National Conference on e-Governance.

Click here for Prime Minister Award Scheme